Seagull Business Awards Breakfast


Seagull Winners: SADA, Still Waters Massage/Spa, Community Credit Union and Bernard Kavanagh.

On December 2, ILCC hosted its 2nd Annual Seagull Business Excellence Awards Breakfast. It was a beautiful and unseasonably mild morning when some 40 business people from throughout the region gathered at In Da Loop Pub & Restaurant in Fermeuse to celebrate business and community leadership.

ILCC President Derrick Thompson welcomed the enthusiastic crowd and encouraged those in attendance to network and enjoy the delicious breakfast prepared by the friendly IDL staff. Afterwards, Director Mike Rose presented the award for Most Promising New Business to Still Waters Massage and Spa before Pat Puddister gave her keynote address on her 28 years as owner of Pat’s Plants. Then, ILCC Director Carol Anne Devereaux presented the staff of Community Credit Union with the Seagull Award for Outstanding Community Service. In a slight break from tradition, CBDC-Celtic Executive Director, Loretta Ryan (also a key event sponsor) presented the award for Most Effective NGO to the Southern Avalon Development Association (SADA) before ILCC Director, Linda Cooke brought the house down with a hilarious story about the recipient of the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award, Bernard Kavanagh who was given a spontaneous standing ovation for his 61 years (and counting) in business on the Southern Shore.

While only our 2nd year presenting this event, momentum is obviously building and it is our great pleasure to be a part of this celebration and acknowledgement of all the tremendous work happening publicly — but more often, behind the scenes. We will take away learnings and suggestions for areas of improvement and possible additional Award Categories. However, in the meantime we encourage everyone to take a look around at the businesses and community groups in the region and be prepared to nominate or vote for deserving organizations in 2016.

Thanks to everyone who attended and a big shout out to all the nominees and winners!

Comments are closed